BCCI recommended Virat Kohli for Khel Ratna, Ajinkya Rahane for Arjuna Award













The Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli and Indian team batsmen Ajinkya Rahane has been nominated by The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the Khel Ratna award and the Arjuna Award.

Virat Kohli-led his team after MS Dhoni’s shock retirement in December 2014.Kohli has performed well with his bat in past few years and led the team with a victory against South Africa 3-0 in a four-Test series at home last year followed the victory against Sri Lanka tour.

Kohli has been in sensational form this year in all format of games he becomes the quickest to 7000 one-day international runs with 25 ODI centuries.He scored 381 runs in five matches against Australia in ODI series held Australia.Kohli was in good form World T20 and grab the player of the Tournament in ICC world T20.

Virat Kohli success reflects in his batting In 2016, he becomes the 2nd Indian after Suresh Rains in 2012 to reach 1000 runs milestone in T20 format.Kohli also becomes the fastest player to reach 1000 T20 runs in just 18 innings.His scores this year read a staggering 90*, 55*, 50, 7, 49, 56*, 41*, 23, 55*, 24, 82, 89*, 75, 79, 33, 80, 100,14 and 52.

Virat Kohli is currently leading Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League. Kohli is the ‘Orange Cap’ holder for scoring maximum runs 433 in his 7 innings of IPL 2016 so far.

Meanwhile, the Mumbai boy Ajinkya Rahane has also reflected his batting performance and impress BCCI in his 22 test matches he scored 1619 runs with an average of 44.97 including 6 centuries and 7 half centuries.He is currently playing for IPL debutants Rising Pune Supergiants and leading the team with his 280 runs is sixth on IPL 2016 top scorers’ list.

Virat Kohli will become 3rd Indian cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni(2007) if he gets the Honour of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

BCCI’s recommendation for Khel Ratna has come after four years. In 2012, the Board had suggested Rahul Dravid’s name but Olympic medallists wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt and shooter Vijay Kumar won the coveted award. Dravid was given the Padma Bhushan in 2013.
“We have received the recommendations from the BCCI. Their names will be sent to the awards selection committee,” a sports ministry official said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here