First player to win top three ICC awards in Calendar Year: Virat Kohli

First player ICC awards Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli awarded with all 3 ICC Top Awards, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, The ICC Men’s Test Player of the year and The ICC ODI player of the Year- for his performance in 2018, it was announced on Tuesday (January 22). In addition Virat Kohli was also honour as the captain of the ICC Test Team and the ODI team of 2018. This was the great achievement for Indian skipper Virat Kohli for his performance during the year 2018.

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli becomes the first player to win Top 3 ICC awards for his name in a calendar year after the combine runs of 1322 in 13 tests, 1202 in 14 ODI and 211 from T20I. Virat Kohli has to say, “It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game,”

He further added, “To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation.”

Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ICC ODI Player of the Year awards last year and was also the ICC ODI Player of the Year in 2012.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here